5. 跨境水龍頭

香港有一間成功的餐飲集團,分店遍佈港九,於廣東省也有數間大型店舖,每年營業額以億元計,但呈報的利潤不算多,每年只有數百萬元。 該集團為了保障長期經營,在十數年前開始不斷買入多個店舖物業,動輒投資數千萬元,甚至億元。

稅務局對於現金零售行業特別留意,因為這些行業最容易「走」稅。 該集團終於在多年前收到稅務局的通知,稅務局將會在短期內對其進行實地審查。 董事局當然不敢怠慢,很快便聘請富有經驗的會計師作為稅務代表,全力應付稅務局的質詢。

新會計師接手個案之後,立刻研究和複核資料,很快便發覺該集團在香港的好幾間子公司每天都有大量大額現金進出(少者數十萬,大者數百萬),似乎跟餐飲業務不太吻合。 董事們惟有老實的解釋給會計師知道,這些交易是國內人民幣兌換港元的「地下」業務。

上述「地下」活動平均有1.0-1.5%淨利,因而累計起來的溢利極之龐大,會計師勸喻客戶誠實呈報給稅務局,以免引來更嚴重的後果。 客戶最終同意會計師的忠告,通知稅務局有這些商業活動,承諾盡快編制收支對冲交易資料,計算出兌換經營的利潤。 經過大量的配對收支工作,會計師終於核實了這些經濟活動每年所產生的利潤。 因為該集團在稅務局開展了調查多月後方才自動提供準確資料,因此最終也罰了短報稅款的80%,這已經算是從輕法落了!

我們在這裏奉勸各位,做生意要走正途,兼且要「賺錢納稅」,這是天經地義之事,很難有僥倖的啊!

8165

5. Cross border money tap

There was a prominent and successful restaurant chain in Hong Kong having outlets all around the territory. They had also opened up a few large shops in the Guangdong Province. Annual turnover had been millions of dollars but the reported income was merely a few millions a year. To protect its long term operational stability, the group had begun acquisitions of landed properties about a decade ago, investing many millions in this sector.

The Inland Revenue Department always pay close attention on cash retailing businesses because profits would be most easily “run” away by tax payers. It was not surprising that the group one day received a field audit notice from the Inland Revenue that the Department would commence site audit on the group’s affairs. Without any hesitation, the board of directors promptly engaged an experienced tax professional accountant to handle any enquiries from the government authority.

After reviewing the books and records of the group, the new professional accountant soon found out that there were a few Hong Kong subsidiaries which had large cash deposits (a few hundred thousand or even millions of dollars) in and out of their bank accounts, seemingly not relating to the catering businesses. The directors had no choice but to frankly confess to the professional accountant that these were underground RMB/HK$ exchange transactions conducted by them.

The above-said underground activities had an average net margin of 1.0-1.5%, thus the aggregate profits were really very substantial. The directors were advised to honestly disclose the affairs to the Inland Revenue Department in order to avoid more serious consequences. It was logical that the directors agreed to the professional advice and then they informed the Department about these commercial activities. The Department was promised to receive full details of such exchange transactions and the resulting profits earned. The professional accountant had conducted intensive work to sort out the net income and then reported them to the Inland Revenue Department. As the group only took the initiative to report additional income a few months after the Department had commenced the field audit, the group was finally fined up to 80% of the under-reported taxes. This was already considered not that severe.

We sincerely urge any business people to run their activities in a legal manner. If income is earned, pay tax!