6. 不良師傅正徒兒

有一間貿易公司多年來經營貴金屬加工和進出口生意,營業額每年過億元,但在帳面上的毛利率只有3-5%,淨盈利每年只有一百多萬元。

該公司的加工工場設於九龍某一工業大廈之內,面積有300m²,聘用了十多個工人,其中大部份是「學徒」制,老闆就是師傅,僱員便是學徒。 這間公司的待遇微薄,福利欠奉,而且工人經常要加班,但老闆會用很多理由去尅扣工資,令到僱員們敢怒而不敢言。

終於有事情發生了。 某「學徒」已經在這間公司工作了五年,但因為在加工某件貴金屬產品時有所失誤,令到不能準時交貨給外國客人,公司因此遭受到處分和須要賠償。 老闆當然怒氣冲天,將該名「學徒」駡得狗血淋頭,並且說會扣減他當月的薪金以作抵償。 這位僱員當然反對,在多番爭辯之後,竟然被老闆即時解僱,最終閙上勞工審裁處。

該名僱員離職之後,有感舊老闆待員工實在過份,於是具函通知稅務局,舊僱主公司有嚴重逃稅之嫌,並且提供了一些證據。 稅務局接報之後,經過內部一些複雜程序,終於開設調查檔案,向那間貿易公司進行稅務調查。

貿易公司的東主知道事態不妙,因為他的公司是個人獨資公司,每年報稅都是經一間會計公司(非會計師事務所)統合一些資料而胡混申報,根本沒有準確地反影事實出來。 他在一個月內聘得一名資深會計師作為稅務代表,替他與稅務局斡旋。

在此,我們不打算詳盡解說整個調查的工作,但有一點值得一提,那便是該貿易公司將大量有價值的貴金屬「廢料」變賣,每年竟有營業額的10%之多,而且完全沒有入帳,所有變賣「廢料」的現金支票都直接存入老闆的私人戶口。 簡單來說,這名納稅人每年漏報收入達千萬元之巨!

個案結束時,該名納稅人須要繳付達一千六百萬元的稅罰款,這也算是天網恢恢,疏而不漏。 請記着,「廢料」錢都是經營收入,不能當它是「私己錢」而不申報稅項的。 另外,「與人為善」,「以人為本」才是自保之道啊!

8165

6. Evil master, gentleman trainee

A precious metal trader handled subcontracting and import/export businesses. His annual turnover was about HK$100 millions. The firm’s financial statements revealed a gross profit margin of 3-5% and hence, the net profit of the firm was around a few millions a year.

The subcontracting base was located inside an industrial building in Kowloon, having a net area of around 300m². The factory had hired 10+ workers who were mostly employed under apprenticeships. The boss was the master. This company’s owner was quite mean in paying remunerations and welfares to the workers, although they were often asked to work overtime. Unfortunately, the workers’pays were always deducted with minor and unreasonable causes raised by the boss. This had often created anger and disputes between the employer and the employees.

One day, an event happened. An apprentice, who had worked for the company for five years, had made certain mistakes in processing some precious metallic products. The mistakes led to late delivery to an overseas customer which had resulted in claims and penalties. The boss definitely raged at this apprentice who was told to have a large deduction on his wages so as to compensate part of the losses sustained by the company. This undoubtedly arouse fights between the two and the boss sacked the apprentice immediately. The case was brought in front of the Labour Tribunal to resolve the complaint by the apprentice.

After leaving the company, this employee still felt unsettled because the ex-boss was really a crappy person. He then took a revenge to write an informant letter with certain evidences to the Inland Revenue notifying the Department that the ex-employer was suspected to have evaded taxes. After certain internal procedures carried out by the Department, the tax authority had then determined to conduct tax investigation into the trading company’s affairs.

The proprietor himself knowingly had hidden profits. For annual tax reporting purpose, he merely gathered some data and asked a non-practising firm to submit the tax returns on his behalf. The submissions were basically not the truth. A month after the proprietor was informed of the investigation, an experienced professional accountant was appointed to handle the problems for him.

The tax investigation was long and tedious. Disregarding the details, we consider that there is one important point worth mentioning here. The trading company had large amounts of precious metallic “wastes” which could be sold at about 10% of the open market value of the original raw materials. These wastage sales had not been recorded in the company’s books and cash cheques received were deposited into the personal bank account of the proprietor. Simply to say, this tax payer had actually under reported his income exceeding HK$10 million a year!

To close the case, this tax payer was taxed and fined up to HK$16 million. This was considered right and just. Please remember that proceeds from sales of wastages are also business income which must not be regarded as “private pocket monies” not relevant for tax reporting. Moreover, be good to others is doing your own good!

8165