7. 仳離之痛

香港一間玩具貿易公司,由兩夫婦經營了十多年,業績在近年有不錯的增長,妻子因此而比較少參與公司實際的工作,多點在家裏照顧老少。

茲因感情的問題,夫婦倆的關係日漸疏離,直到兩年前雙方都覺得不可能再生活在一起,決定離婚。 辦理離婚的過程中,必然涉及財富分配和將來贍養費的問題。 公司近年以來大部份由先生管理,包括財務報稅等。 當提供審計賬目給律師商討金錢事項時,太太才驚見公司竟然在過往三年都沒有盈利,沒有可能的啊!她也熟識生意賺錢的門路,不可能每年做幾億元生意都沒有錢賺的。

雙方代表律師對於財產的實額和分配爭持甚烈,而先生堅持公司和個人的財富是正確無誤的。 太太要求委派會計師去審查公司的賬目,但先生斷然拒絕,申說每年已有核數師報告,賬目審核的結果是正確和公平的,再次查賬是多此一舉。

根據太太的經驗,以公司持續上升的營業額,經營費用也應該沒有太大上揚,盈利理應十分可觀的,只是現在賬目上的毛利率非常低,因此而引致純利微薄。

太太進一步跟相熟的供應廠商查詢,發覺貿易毛利率根本沒有下降。 若以此推算,賬目上的毛利率必然是被人為刻意造低,她跟先生追問多回,答案依然是否定的。 到此已別無他法,太太惟有具名向稅務局投訴公司及先生有漏稅之嫌,她也有提供不少資料以協助稅務局進行調查工作。

稅務調查在投訴不久之後正式開始,先生一路支吾以對,以拖緩之策來應付稅務人員的追問。 但紙是蓋不住火的,原來先生跟美國最主要的幾個入口商安排,由其貿易公司所發出的發票金額是比雙方同意的價格減低5%,而此5%則由先生另一家名字與貿易公司極之相近的無限公司收取,當之為佣金,而此無限公司的每年報稅只是胡混了事,每年短報的金額數以百萬元計!

結果是十分明顯了!先生除了被稅務局懲罰巨額附加稅之外,查出的「額外」資產當然要和太太瓜分,真是麻煩自招,人財兩失,後悔莫及了!

8165

7. The pain of divorce

A well-established toys trading company in Hong Kong was owned and run by a couple for more than 10 years. The company had encountered satisfactory turnover growth in recent years. Feeling at ease with the business, the wife had reduced her daily work in the office and stayed much more time at home to take care of the family affairs.

Sadly to say, the couple had sentimental problems which had ruined their relationship. Until about two years ago, they felt impossible to cling together and decided for a divorce. There were many disputes in the negotiation of splitting of wealth and the level of future maintenance. The trading company had been mainly operated by the husband during the past few years who also took care of the financial and taxation matters. When certain audited financial statements were presented to the wife’s lawyers, the wife was astonished to note the poor results of the company, having no profit at all for the past three years. That’s impossible! She knew quite well how this business could earn money and considered it was impossible to generate no profit out of millions of turnover a year.

Both sides’ lawyers had combated severely over the division of wealth. The husband strongly advocated that the net assets of the company and his personal wealth had been truly stated and were free of errors. The wife wished to appoint an accounting firm to review the company’s books and records again but the move was strongly opposed by her husband who cited the second audit was wasting time and effort.

According to the wife’s experience, the company should have earned a decent profit due to the continuous rises in turnover with operating expenditure staying at relatively similar level. She found out that the gross profit margins in the profit and loss accounts were unreasonably low which then resulted in the thin profits.

There were enquiries conducted by the wife to some suppliers whom she knew quite well. These suppliers gave feedback that the gross profit margins should have no dropping. To project the results by this external finding, the margins in the financial statements must have been deliberately lowered by somebody. Without much saying, she went for explanations from her counterpart who then repeatedly denied her concerns. The wife, feeling hopeless after various means, reported her doubt to the Inland Revenue Department, informing the authority that she suspected the company and her husband had evaded taxes. She had also provided suitable information to assist the Department to institute the investigation.

Soon after the informant had reported the case, the Investigation Unit began the process to ask the husband to supply relevant information. This gentleman used a delay tactic in responding. However, a paper lantern could not cover a fire for long. The fact was that the husband had sought consents from his major USA importers to accept invoices issued by his trading company at 5% lower than the agreed transaction prices. But this 5% difference was then billed by another unlimited firm which borne a very similar name to the trading company. This 5% income was treated as commissions received by the unlimited firm. The husband had manipulated the accounts in the past annual tax reporting. The under-reported net profit had been millions for a year!

The final outcome was very obvious. The husband was heavily fined with additional taxes by the Inland Revenue Department. His ‘extra’ wealth was of course needed to be divided among himself and his wife. This stupid move of the man was well penalized. Regret was useless!